Father’s Day

To My Father, on Father’s Day.
Our relationship was interrupted but I remember…
the way you sang over me in the night, when I refused to sleep
and talked to me till the wee hours
and helped me learn to handle overwhelming emotions.
and taught me big words
and were proud of my accomplishments
I remember…
your calm
your humor (but, oh, it was strange, who? me? STRANGE?)
your incredible ability to bluff your way through any situation
your walk, or is it a swagger?
your ability to relate to others and still be you

You gave me the resilience to rise above anxiety, the chutzpah to always pursue another dream, and a liberality that keeps me balanced and kind.

I love you, and I thank you.

Happy Father’s Day

To my Husband on Father’s Day
I like the way your eyes crinkle when you smile, and how they light up when you talk about stamps, or church history, or some dry theology book that you’ve been reading. You get that same look when you watch our children’s antics, and I love you for that.

I like the way you think in a straight line, one thought following the next in orderly progression. If it weren’t for you, the practical parts of life would not happen in our family.

I like that you appreciate a good rainstorm, or a new bird at the birdfeeder, or any of 1000 other details in life that I often run by too fast to see. I like that you stop and sit and read to our children.

You are fantastically stable and speak plainly. You are thoughtful and wise. You listen.

(He thinks that he is boring, but his book jacket brown is my favorite color.

He is everything I am not.)

He is an immovable rock.

You are a good parent, always pointing our children to their Heavenly Father, and I love you for that.

Happy Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

