2017: the Year to Abide, Focus, and Remain

I’m not doing a garden this year. Besides the fact that I have never successfully gotten both vegetables to grow and our livestock not to eat them, I really don’t enjoy gardening. I’m not particularly good at it. Our walnut tree soil is not well suited for it. Every year I’ve wasted money on fences and soil remediation only to give up some time in July. Every year I am flooded with produce from friends and neighbors. I’ve tried to do a garden because I love the IDEA of a garden and felt that it is something that SHOULD be done if one lives in the country.

Instead, I’m investing my time and  garden money into something I really am passionate about: getting children to our church’s summer literacy program. I love books and reading and kids and evangelism. If I only do one thing well this year, I want it to be that thing.

This year I’m letting go of a lot of SHOULDS and GOOD IDEAS for the RIGHT and the GOD IDEAS. I’m spending more time ABIDING, more time seeking His face, more time in prayer. I’m going to write, because the discipline of writing tames my disordered mind. I’m going to get those stinking 10,000 steps a day in because, darn it, my health really does improve when I do.

We’ll continue with the things we are doing for school. We’ll continue to disciple our children, to attempt to walk out the gospel in our dealings with them.  We’ll PERSIST, but it will never be a magazine cover. I’m giving up on the thought of having an uncluttered office, but finding ways to be more consistent in ensuring the rest of the house is clean. We really can’t do everything, but this year, I can hope to do a few things well.

John 15:4-5

Abide in Me and I in you. As a branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me. I am the vine and you are the branches, he who abides in ME and I in Him will bear much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.

Leave a Reply

