Faith, Childlike, Please!

When did I become so cynical?

There was a time when I saw every homeless person, every drunk, every hurting person I encountered as a personal assignment from Jesus Christ. I’d sit for hours while people told me their stories. I’d pray with strangers. Now I avoid eye contact, and quickly shuffle my children past. People are dangerous, after all.

And I don’t have time to sit in the margins with marginal people. Gotta keep up. Gotta keep going (chasing what? why?)

I became an adult.

I started measuring success in seconds and minutes and hours and results. I forgot eternity in the hearts of men. That often interruptions are divine. That the Kingdom is continually coming all around me, and I just need to enter into step with the work of the Holy Spirit.

Matthew 25:40“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

41“Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

44“They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

45“He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

46“Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

Jesus, Son of David! Have mercy on me! Take away this blindness that refuses to see the glory and your image in the faces of those groaning for the sons of God to be revealed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

