Mommy Works

I just steamed and ironed a check, which makes sense, as it is the afternoon, and by this time in my day all vainglorious dreams of “smooth and easy” have given way to “the scanner ate it, the printer wont work, the web site is down, and I’d forgotten we were supposed to be _______ 45 minutes ago.”

I stumble out of bed every morning, wishing I could remember whatever party I’d been to while I appeared to be sleeping.  I mumble something incoherent to my family and I try to have a quiet time. I’ve been reading Galatians this week. Mostly the first two chapters, as somehow all hell breaks lose by the time I get to chapter 3.

That being said, I’ve had some time to meditate on these 3 points:

  1. Jesus is the One who delivers us from this present evil age. Not my perfect parenting. Not my Pinterest worthy house. Not the fact that I manage to perfectly apply my make-up every morning before preparing my family a nutritious breakfast. (who am I kidding? I went three days this week without brushing my hair). No politician can do it. No model or method can do it. Only the captain of our Salvation can preserve me and my family.
  2. I have been crucified with Christ. It is not I who live, but Christ lives in me, and the life that I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Sometimes the “interruptions” to my day are the work of Christ. Jesus never had a house to keep up with, but He never failed to reach out to a leper. Jesus never had little children to worry about preparing meals and snacks for, but He broke bread and fed 5000. Jesus didn’t worry about what the other rabbis were doing, He commanded the wind and waves. How often do I miss the miraculous because I am too focused on the mundane? Am I wiping noses, quieting tears and cleaning floors in the knowledge that 1) He loves Me! 2)the same power that rose Christ from the dead is at work in me, in my life, in my circumstances, and in my children?
  3. The just shall live by faith. That’s it. We hold to the Promise, that He will send His Spirit, and do that which we could NEVER, NEVER do in our own strength.

O thank God, that it doesn’t rely on me! I could never save my children. I could never save myself. He freely gives of His Spirit and enables us to walk in step with Him. Sometimes those steps lead to some very strange places indeed! But even strange places are good, for HE is Good. And He loves us. And He is Love. He is Joy. Peace. Patience. Kindness. Goodness. Faithfulness. Gentleness. Self Control. He is Good and He does not change. We work, not for righteousness sake, but leaning in to Him and joining Him in what He does.

Mommy friends, He gently leads those who are with young! No more condemnation over not being able to do more than is humanly possible in a day. (And isn’t it crazy how we’ve made up this law that has nothing to do with the law of Moses or with grace or even with loving our neighbor? ). Why do we feel guilty over things that have nothing to do with true Goodness.

I stumble through my day and He meets me.

Leave a Reply

