Psalm 118, The Sheep Selection, and a Homeless Man

My children and I have been working on singing Psalm 118: 15-29. This is the “Hosanna” Psalm that people would have been singing on the way to Jerusalem for Passover.

We had a homeless friend doing some work for us today around our little homestead. He heard us singing. “That’s about the lamb selection,” he said. “Jesus entered Jerusalem on the day of the lamb selection”.

I knew it was a Passover Psalm, but that small bit of trivia added so much depth and meaning to some of the words.

Jesus entered Jerusalem on the day each household came and selected a lamb for he sacrifice.

Here is what we were singing:

The voice of rejoicing and salvation Is in the tents of the righteous

The right hand of the Lord does valiantly The right hand of the Lord is exalted

The right hand of the Lord does valiantly

I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord

The Lord has chastened me severely, but He has not given me over to death

Open to me the gates of righteousness, I will go through them and I will bless the Lord.

This is the gate of the Lord, through which the righteous shall enter

I will praise you, for you have answered me, an have become my salvation

 

Leave a Reply

