Fasting for Fun and Profit

And suddenly, I have energy. Like, a lot of energy. Like, finally finishing all those outdoor projects I have been saying I was going to do for years energy…

I’ve struggled with crazy hormones since I was a teen.  I was diagnosed with PCOS when I was 21. My weight has fluctuated a lot. Even before I started having children, I struggled with fatigue, spiking blood sugars, insomnia, and moodiness.

About a year and a half ago, things had gotten rough. I started having constant, debilitating joint pain. Even simple tasks left me tired. My doctor noted low D levels and prescribed D3, but also referred me to a rheumatologist in Charlottesville. I was too overwhelmed to fill out all the paperwork and arrange childcare, so I didn’t go. I found some supplements that seemed to help with the pain and left it at that

The D3 helped a lot with the joint pain and depression. My brain suddenly wasn’t so fuzzy. I don’t take it anymore, as I find myself spending a lot more time outside.

The most improvement happened, however, when I started “fasting” intermittently. Fasting causes an increase in a hormone called ghrelin, which makes you hungry, but also helps with immune function and the reduction of inflammation. It also increases memory and ability to learn. The opposite hormone, leptin, is released when your tummy is full and tells you that you don’t need to eat.  Lately, I have been eating small amounts of protein during the day and a normal supper in the evening. I have cut way back on sugar and white flour, and I feel amazing.  I am sleeping soundly at night and have much more energy throughout the day. I also don’t hurt anymore.

Am I losing weight? Probably not, but I am so much more active now that eventually it will have to start rearranging itself 🙂

1 thought on “Fasting for Fun and Profit”

Leave a Reply

