Being a Mommy isn’t A Diaper Commercial

Dear Sister,

I met your beautiful little squish yesterday, and I saw your bleary eyes. You are a fantastic Mommy. Please never let some image, whether it be on a diaper commercial, Pinterest, or anywhere else, convince you that somehow everyone else has it together and you do not. The truth is, we all fall short, but by God’s grace we can get up and keep trying. It also helps to know”apart from the will of our Father in Heaven…”

So, without further ado, my unedited experience of mothering in the first two years:

“I can’t believe she’s finally here. She’s so perfect. Actually,she also looks a little like Billy Crystal from ‘The Princess Bride”. All  babies look like Billy Crystal. What if I can’t tell my baby apart? Am I a horrible mother?”

Then the breastfeeding hormones kick. “I must ensure the survival of this little ball of squish. It must live, else I die!!!”

“Is she eating/pooping/sleeping/waking up enough?” Is she? IS SHE?”

Then the sleep deprivation kicks in: “I can’t believe I just misplaced/dropped/ bumped her head against the door frame/ let her squirm off the bed into the clothesbasket…again. I AM a horrible mother!!!!”

First steps!!! A perfect excuse for a 1,000,000th picture post!!!

Don’t put that in your mouth. Don’t eat that. Get that out of your mouth. Did you put that in your mouth? (The number for Poison Control is 1-800-222-1222, and no, I did not look that up to type it)

She is such a little person. She has so much personality.

SHE HAS SO MUCH PERSONALITY.

It should not be possible to  scream and arch your back so far that you fall out of a grocery cart or a baby Bjorn…and yet. Ok, I’m just going to have to carry you. There is no reason to scream, I know you are tired. That’s it, I don’t care if the cart is full, we are going home.

And yet, these are the precious years. The cuddle years. The years of loving looks and midnight snuggles. There is no contest, but many days of patient faithfulness. Someday, you may even sleep again.

And remember, she is not yours, but belongs to Someone who never slumbers or sleeps

* The references in this post are to the first question of the Heidlburg Catechism. It goes something like this:

What is your only comfort in life and in death?

That I am not my own, but belong—body and soul, in life and in death—to my faithful Savior, Jesus Christ

He has fully paid for all my sins with his precious blood, and has set me free from the tyranny of the devil. He also watches over me in such a way that not a hair can fall from my head without the will of my Father in heaven; in fact, all things must work together for my salvation

Because I belong to him, Christ, by his Holy Spirit, assures me of eternal life and makes me wholeheartedly willing and ready from now on to live for Him

Leave a Reply

