Tangerine Skies

I saw them under a tangerine sky

wisps of childhood flying by

“Watch my trick!”

“Look at my dance”

on bike and trikes

awaiting a glance

 

The dishes waited

the water got cold

as I watched autumn leaves fall

and childhoods unfold

I fixed a chain

I clapped, I cheered

As daylight faded and night drew near

 

I pinched myself

Is it a dream?

Did these golden haired maids

spring from me

with flying braids

and joy incendiary?

Or are they the glowing kin of fairy

 

What place is this?

What pleasant land?

Where children thrive?

A new Jerusalem

under tangerine skies

with wisps of childhood, by and by

 

1 thought on “Tangerine Skies”

Leave a Reply

